fruits of insomnia


One of the common struggles that goes with being autistic is maintaining a regular sleep schedule. For a lot of us, it just doesn’t happen. Last night was a rough night, in which I did get a lot of sleep, but it was at the wrong time: 6PM to 1:30AM. After getting a full night’s sleep, I was ready to kick some ass. What to do?

I know! I’ll start working on my Jenkins CI server!

The last part for my big build box hasn’t arrived yet, but as long as my kids aren’t awake the Minecraft zone isn’t crushing my HP Proliant N40L Microserver. I spun up a couple of zones, one for the Jenkins server itself, and one for a build slave.

I’ve worked sort of tangentially with Jenkins in the past in a professional capacity, but I can’t say I’m a subject matter expert or heavily experienced. There is a bit of a learning curve, but mostly I’ve figured out the bits that I need it to do. I’ve got it tracking three open source project right now: ZNC, Git, and Tor. It’s successfully watching the Master branch of each of the three projects and building them from source on OmniOS.

Screen Shot 2015-07-09 at 8.18.55 AM

For Tor, I additionally have Jenkins running a gmake test after building from source.

Next step: get Jenkins to orchestrate IPS packaging. I also need to work up a solid SMF manifest for Tor.

A little further out: I’ve got some pretty solid hardware, but a flaky residential broadband connection (thanks, Time-Warner). I’d like very much to find some kind soul who has illumos servers in a stable datacenter environment to mirror my private IPS repositories publicly for the benefit of the rest of the community. As much as I love Digital Ocean, they can’t offer me OmniOS zones as a service (hey, get on that guys, please?) Or better yet, 1U of space in a Raleigh datacenter with power and an ethernet port would be fantastic.

One comment

Leave a Reply

